Wordplay

I enjoy language and I love wordplay. It doesn’t even have to be that clever! And a great place to employ wordplay is in signage and advertising.

Here are just a couple of examples that I’ve seen recently.

NBC News billboard

“Up to the minute, the minute you’re up.” Really simple. Using the preposition “up” two different ways. I saw this when I was in Chicago, using their wonderful L train system.

when_nature_calls,_be_sure_to_pick_up

“When nature calls, be sure to pick up.” I think this is hilarious! My sister and I have dogs and we pick up after our pets all the time. It’s the civilized thing to do and it shows consideration to the neighborhood. Unfortunately some dog owners are too selfish or too lazy to do this. A sign is required to remind them. This reminder has a sense of humor about it.

I’ll be on the lookout for more signs that amuse me.

Leave a comment